This blog was first published on Employer Pass on February 5th, 2021.
Employers processing payroll in Connecticut starts like payroll is most other states with determining employee pay, hours worked, overtime, any withholding or deductions, payroll tax rates, and ultimately paying employees and delivering vendor payments. Employers should be aware of final pay and lawful deductions when payments are in dispute. Knowing what the current federal laws and Connecticut legislation are regarding payroll is imperative right from the start.
Connecticut Minimum Wage
The Minimum Wage Public Act No. 19-4, passed in May 2019 incrementally raises the Minimum Wage to $15.00 and then adjusts according to Federal Economic Indicators.
Currently Connecticut's Minimum Wage is $12.00 per hour. However, the schedule of anticipated changes for the state are as follows:
- August 1, 2021 - $13.00 per hour
- July 1, 2022 - $14.00 per hour
- June 1, 2023 - $15.00 per hour
Another variance here is the minimum wage for minors under the age of 18, which is 85% of the current minimum wage and can be paid for minors working at farms or for the government indefinitely and for the first 200 hours of employment for minors employed elsewhere.
Connecticut employers may not pay under the current Minimum Wage per hour unless the employee or occupation are specifically exempt from the minimum wage under Connecticut or Federal law.
To continue reading, click here to view the full article on Connecticut Payroll to learn more about topics that include:
- Connecticut Overtime Pay Law
- Connecticut Pay Schedule Requirements
- Connecticut Payroll Deductions
- Connecticut Final Pay Rule
- Connecticut Unemployment Tax
- Connecticut Income Tax Withholding
- Social Security Payroll Taxes
- Connecticut Paid Family and Medical Leave (PFMLA)
Payroll is a lengthy process, but understanding Connecticut and Federal law will help make processing payroll much easier. Your alternative? Use a Connecticut payroll company and outsourced payroll service.